Turmeric in Green Smoothies

I finally took the plunge and purchased a Vitamix blender. Now I am able to run in to make green smoothies before my kids wake up and after they go to sleep.  (Unfortunately, two of my kids hate loud noises, so I try to do my blending when they are sleeping.)  I’ve been having some autoimmune issues.  I knew that I should be getting a good breakfast that has a lot of anti-inflammatory properties, so this morning I started using some different herbs and spices in my smoothie.  One that I had read tasted great in green smoothies is turmeric.  This morning I made a smoothie with peaches, frozen banana, almond butter, cinnamon, turmeric, and a handful of spinach.  It was very good.  I was so surprised by how the turmeric complimented the cinnamon in the smoothie.  I don’t know why this was so surprising – considering that I often make savory dishes with cinnamon and turmeric. Maybe it was all in my head, but I felt a lot better today after my smoothie.  It didn’t weigh me down, and my joints felt less rigid. 

One of the reasons I am trying to eat smoothies for breakfast is that I am trying out a new meal plan for myself.  My decision to try something new came from my desire to get away from animal products as much as possible for personal reasons, and yet allow myself the indulgence because being gluten-free, oat-free is already such a huge restriction.  I was inspired by Vegan Before Six (VB6), and this post by No Meat Athlete.  I will be eating vegan/vegetarian and gluten-free, oat-free before 6pm. I considered saying that I will eat 100% vegan before 6pm, but I want to be able to put some goat cheese on my salads once in a while.  After 6pm, I’ll be following a modified paleo plan.  The main meal will be paleo, but I will have grains on the side for my family.   While I plan to avoid the grains, there may be times that I have a little.  I consider this somewhat of a 80/20 approach except that I don’t want to say I will always do 80/20 because most of the time I will be 100% paleo. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Turmeric in Green Smoothies

  1. The smoothie sounds delicious. I have everything but peaches–will have to try this soon! :)

  2. Andrea says:

    It is so good! The peaches are a must (mangoes would probably work too because they have a similar flavor and texture). I made another one this morning using blueberries and apples, but the peach was much better!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

